The Four Levels of eLearning Interactivity

Back when eLearning first became popular, organizations tried to simply replicate the traditional classroom experience through video lectures, online discussion groups, and reading assignments. This strategy proved unsuccessful, however, and it did so for one reason: they just didn’t engage learners.

To combat this issue, the industry shifted toward developing and designing more sophisticated models of eLearning, and the strategy proved more successful. These models now fall into four main categories and they’re important to understand, as they deeply affect learning outcomes.

The eLearning Interactivity Levels

1. Passive

At this level, learners are not required to interact with their resources. Infographics, simple video or audio files, and straightforward test questions are typical forms. The process is linear.

2. Limited

At this level, simple, straightforward interaction is required. A clickable menu, multimedia, or drag-and-drop interactions are examples of what learners see.

3. Moderate

This is the first level where the experience becomes more complex, perhaps even customized. It may include simulations, stories, customized files, and animation.

4. Full

At this most sophisticated level, learners are required to interact with their learning content fully and are required to give feedback as well. Gamification, simulations, characters, avatars, and scenarios may be present at this level.

eLearning interactivity levels are important to understand because a platform’s level is a good indicator of engagement. Oftentimes, as the level of complexity increases, so does the reaction, engagement, reflection, retention, and motivation of learners. Truly engaging learners is a crucial component to enhancing a learning outcome.

Interested in learning more about eLearning interactivity, or how a custom learning solution could benefit your organization? Contact us today.